In some countries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past.

Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

A segment of society these days prefers residing in many nations. In my opinion, this is an unfavorable situation, because it is causing the problem of social isolation and making people inefficient.

To embark upon, people who choose to live alone generally face the issue of loneliness. In other words, they do not have anybody to talk at home and have to take the day-to-day decisions on their own. Even on problematic days, they have to solve all the problems without the support of anybody else. This makes their life stressful and sometimes worsens their condition to cause mental illnesses such as depression and anxiety. My friend, for instance, decided to stay alone and later on, he started to feel lonely at home, which caused several issues in his life and ultimately made him regret for that decision.

Moreover, the decision of isolated dwelling also increases inefficiency in people. Living with the family has numerous benefits as all family members share the household duties, which enable each of them to focus on their studies and office work comfortably. Nevertheless, while in solo living they do not have anyone else and they have to perform all the household chores by themselves, which consequently affects their education and employment. To illustrate, as the report of the Human Development Institute of India, the people who stay with family are 40 % more efficient than those who remains in isolation.

In conclusion, a portion of society these days indeed prefer to be alone at home, however, this is a detrimental trend as it is isolating people from society and making them unproductive.