In some countries, the number of people who visit art galleries is declining. What are the reasons for this? How can we solve this problem?

Preserving connections with our past is an admirable objective and visiting art galleries are considered to be the contributing factor in this invaluable process. There seem to be two main causes involved and several possible solutions which we will discuss here.

It must be admitted that parents are much concerned on the academic development of their children and the culture to visit museums, theaters and other cultural events has been declining for the last two decades. The revolution of the internet has replaced most of our activities with online media or video on-demand, resulted in convenience for most of the people to watch it at their own pace. Furthermore, the lack of investment or funding for public events and security at public places seem to be the another major cause as we can see, for instance, in Pakistan.

Possible solutions might involve, taking a long-term approach by adequate counseling of parents, that how the culture is conserved that help to maintain the fabric of society and could be handed down between generations. Most countries such as India or Pakistan have a rich heritage of legends and folklore which could be displayed in various events in the form of stories, drama and art with the help of traditional costumes. Another solution is to promote more outdoor activities through media platforms, such as if sports champion or figureheads speak out about the benefits, the message may well get through to children. A final response would be to encourage investment on infrastructure, and this way general public could be attracted to visit art galleries.

In conclusion, while technology is providing convenience, there are certain drawbacks as we are compromising the significance or art and music in forms ranging from opera to traditional shanties and dirges that is helping to maintain our cultures.