Some experts believe that when a country is already rich, any additional increase in economic wealth does not make its citizen more satisfied. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Economic growth is indeed a factor of depicting a country’s prosperity. However, experts believe the additional wealth does not indicate the surge in citizens’ satisfaction. In my opinion, I completely agree with the given statement.

Despite the fact that the increase in economic wealth boosts a nation’s status on international scale, however, it might yet to execute the domestic issues which is rooted from the phenomenon, namely income inequality. Gross domestic product per capita rate illustrates income of a person. However, it does not demonstrate a person’s output in specific numbers, therefore the gap between the rich and the poor is often being neglected. While prosperous people continue to make more money, the poor people are struggling to make a living. No proper social status, poorer health and escalating crime rates are inevitable consequences of income inequality. Moreover, people in poverty have reduced senses of fairness as they are not the figures that are being taken care of yet are the ones who are being despise by the society. The judgmental mindsets of most people nowadays have created a far distance between the poor and the rest, which makes job opportunities inaccessible for poorer people.

In addition, the notion of increasing nation’s wealth is directly proportional to the overall well-being is an entire paradox. Well-being is evaluated on various aspects and undeniably money is not the only indicator. There are personal needs that surpass the influence of money and being wealthy is not a solution. For instance, domestic conflicts belong to the political status of a country and its government, and the need for security cannot be solved by money for the time being. On top of that, regarding factors such as mental health, money is also an inapplicable solution. It implies that the need for being highly empathized is what people who suffer from mental disorders are striving for. Therefore, there are needs of higher requirements and being prosperous is no longer the answer.

In conclusion, the sense of satisfactory consists of many factors. I strongly agree that economic growth is not the only crucial one and others should be taken into consideration as well.