Some parents buy their children a large number of toys to play with. What are the advantages and disadvantages for the child of having a large number of toys?Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant example from your own knowledge or experien

There are some parents who buy their children a large number of toys to play with. In my opinion, these parents are unknowingly committing an unfortunate mistake. I think that providing your child with innumerable choices to play with is a recipe for stunting his/her growth as an individual later in the formative years of life.

It is true that toys are an essential part of a child's life. They are a means to open an imaginary fantasy world that the child can gleefully indulge in. As such, toys have the potential to unlock, in a child's mind, the very creative powers that they can employ to shape their adult lives. Therefore, playing with various toys is fundamental for the child to build and choose his/her interests in general. Parents can take a cue from here and take important steps to nurture these particular interests so that the child may acquire a skill-set that he/she can hone upon as they grow and mature. This can be extremely helpful in building and settling into a career of one's choice during adulthood. Thus, it can be concluded that it is highly important to play and experiment with a number of toys during childhood.

On the other hand, having a large number of toys can, and they usually do, create problems with adequate growth of the child. Toys can build in a child an insatiable hunger for entertainment and indulgence. Parents, who give in to their child's demands and provide them news toys regularly, are teaching their child to surrender to temptation. As such, these children develop a habit of playing with toys for as long as it pleases them. They are not enjoying the toys as much as they are interested in trying out new stuff and leave it as soon as they get bored. With a large stock of toys to play with, the child is spoilt for choice, he/she cannot continue for one toy for long and is consequently prone to many ills such as poor attention span, mood swings, and throwing tantrums at the drop of a hat. Seeing this, the parents then supply the kid with another toy and the child gets pacified for the time being, only to begin with this vicious circle once again.

Therefore, I think that it is generally a bad idea to provide your child with a huge number of toys. Not only does this serves to spoil the habits of your child, its downright disastrous as far as healthy growth and maturation are concerned. Furthermore, such a practice makes the child susceptible to various psychological vulnerabilities. Thus, I believe it is best to let a child enjoy a limited set of toys.