Some people argue that the government should give every unemployed person a mobile phone and should make sure they have access to the Internet.

They believe this is the best way of using public money to reduce the problem of unemployment.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Unemployment is a major problem that governments across the world are trying to solve. Some people hold the opinion that governments must tackle this issue by making sure every unemployed person is provided a mobile phone with internet. I believe that putting such measures in place shall provide great assistance to the unemployed for making job applications.

The way jobs are posted nowadays has changed completely. Job advertisements in newspapers or weekly periodicals are now obsolete. Almost all jobs are posted on job portals such as LinkedIn, Seek and Indeed. It is imperative to have access to internet to apply for jobs through these platforms. Considering the high costs of internet, providing access to the web would be a crucial aid from the government to people looking for jobs.

Another important change that has occurred in the hiring process is the way interviews are conducted. Employers want to conduct video interviews over Skype, Microsoft Teams rather than traditional telephonic discussions. Mobile phones come in handy as they carry all these applications and are more convenient and portable than laptops and computers. Moreover, interviewers expect a quick turnaround time and higher availability from job applicants. Having a mobile makes sure a job applicant is always readily available to taken calls and have a direct discussion, thereby decreasing the turnaround time. Hence, I believe providing a mobile phone with video call capabilities can be of great help to job seekers. Although this could put an additional burden on the government, it would pay off once a person gets the job and starts paying taxes to the government.

In conclusion, mobile and internet are the two most important tools a person needs for applying jobs. Governments must provide these two important and crucial tools to unemployed people to enable them to apply for more jobs which can thereby reduce unemployment in the country.