Some people believe that the activities of large multinational corporations mostly benefits the economies of developing countries Other people take the opposite view and feel that these large multinationals are general harmful Discuss both of views and gi

Võ Hải Nam – Week 4 Writing

Nowadays, the employment rate in large multinational corporations cannot be underestimated. With all the welfare it offers to the employees and the wonders it does to every factor of the developing countries, it is believed to have an important position in the countries' development. However, this statement has come under attack by the opposite side’s observation, which is thought to be harmful. In my opinion, although multinational companies have some demerits, I still strongly believe that their advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

On the one hand, it is evident that the uprising trend of global companies means the harder challenges for local ones to survive. Since they have a better reputation and better advertisement campaigns, this will create several difficulties for national companies to widen their fame to the international. For instance, Vinfast, a Vietnam car company, is struggling to advertise its product among the numerous international car companies’ ads. Moreover, there exists an issue in employee recruitment in local companies, because, unlike global ones, their incomes are unsustainable for salaries and better welfares to attract workers.

On the other hand, big global corporations still mostly benefit the economies of the developing countries. One key advantage is the job opportunities given to the unemployed and higher wages are paid for them. Google and Facebook are two corporations which are the examples of a major employer, emphasizing its important benefits to the worker. Moreover, employees also can expose to the white-collar environment in international companies, helping them to expand their knowledge and their build up their relationships with foreign partners.

To summarise, although the budget and workforce shortage can threaten a country’s development, it is my contention that multinational companies still assert their position in terms of country development.