Some people believe that children’s leisure activities must be educational, otherwise they are a complete waste of time.

Do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your experience

Which kind of leisure activities children should take part in has become important now. Some people think that activities mean for education purpose are best utilization of time. However, in my opinion, it is not mandatory for leisure activities to be educational ones at all,

To initate with, leisure activities help children learn life which otherwise cannot be acquired siting on class benches through curriculum. Leisure activities cannot be in manner text books are taught. Infact, such undertakings are interested based. Decision to join a particular community club by a child helps to advance life in many practical ways and does not go in vain. Unconsciously, he is inculcating skills such as team building and communication. Many research finding advocates the fact that many successful personalities in this world were proactive in their childhood and discover their life purpose outside the classrooms.

Furthermore, non-educational activities help children remain physically fir and mentally strong. Nowadays, children are burdened with lengthy home assignments. Under such strain, children’s health can degrade and they can become mentally dull. So, Leisure activities based on hobbies and interests provides an alternative to escape this mechanical life. This fact has been proven scientifically that children performing physical sports and games on regular basis outperforms their counterparts who do not indulge in sporting activites.

To reiterate, leisure activities , other than educational ones, prove to be effective in mental , spiritual and physical development of children in timely fashion.