Some people believe that children should be given lessons on how to manage money in school.

Do you agree or disagree?

Teaching money management skills as a part of the curriculum is always a debatable topic. It is thought by many that it is crucial to teach young adults about financial management. This essay will argue that children must know that money is a blessing and with these skills, they also learn the importance of other skills.

Firstly, this is an era of recession. Unemployment among people is increasing and people are suffering from the economic crisis which leads to difficulty in making both ends meet. Through these management lessons, children would be able to know the importance of money and about how to survive in such circumstances when there are more to buy and less to spend. Furthermore, through these lessons, they learn about the currency of the country and get themselves familiar with the currency notes and learn to do math

Secondly, money management opens the gate to the other skills such as how to differentiate between needs and wants. Children learn to prioritize things in chronological order according to their importance and they must not spend a hefty amount on the least important things. For instance, a survey based on parenting in the United Kingdom reveals that majority of the children make un-necessary demands with their parents and they have to buy them anything they want but with these, they learn to bar their wishes and they start realizing the value of money.

To recapitulate, this essay argued that financial skills are imperative for school going children because it is a key skill that open door to the others.