Some people believe that developments in the field of artificial intelligence will have a positive impact on our lives in the near future. Others, by contrast, are worried that we are not prepared for a world in which computers are more intelligent than humans. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

It seems that the development of artificial intelligence while being appealing for some people, still is serious concern for others. Personally, I understand both of them and being fascinated by the technology, I share the concern of those who thinks that AI may be unsafe.

On the one hand, evolving of computers and robotics is opening wide range of opportunities for humanity. Nowadays robots are able to perform certain types of jobs better than human being is. To illustrate, they can perform precise surgical procedures, which were considered as impossible because a regular surgeon cannot proceed it. As well as this, we already have self-driving car using sensors for navigation. Such technology can improve the safety by reducing the quantity of human errors. Thus, artificial intelligence is thriving and evolving even further and it will definitely improve the quality of human life.

From the other hand, there are possible side effects of the technology. In the short term, replacing some jobs by machines will probably increase rates of unemployment. For instance, implementing self-driving cars in daily lives will expectedly create excessive amount of unemployed drivers. While in the medium term, during the processes of automation some people may lose their skills and as a result a purpose of their life. In addition, a longer term fear is that computers may become so intelligent that they are able to make decisions without human’s supervision and without regard to our well-being. A good example of it is the famous robot Sophia that has said that it will destroy humans in the feature.

In conclusion, while intelligent machines will no doubt improve our lives in many ways, the potential risks of such technologies should not be ignored.