Some people believe the government should spend money on building train and subway lines to reduce traffic congestion. Others think that building more and wider roads is the better way to reduce traffic congestion. Discuss both views and give your opinion

People have different views with regard to the problem of how to tackle the traffic congestion. While some people argue that increasing road constructions would have effects on traffic congestion, I believe that governments should take actions to increase public transport.

On the one hand, enhancement of road networks might not be feasible and effective to relieve traffic congestion. In some cities, there are no enough space to build more roads or even widen them because the cities have been extremely overcrowded. For example, city like Shanghai, has been suffering the high traffic volume in the urban center, which lacks sufficient expansion spaces for public utilities and new roads. In addition, a variety of factors might contribute to road traffic jam, such as weather conditions and car accidents. For instance, extreme weather, such heavy rain and storm would dramatically affect the road traffic and cause heavy traffic jam whereas subways would be relatively survived.

Considering the problems just mentioned about road network, I strongly agree that governments should place the emphasis on public transport. Subways are more efficient and cost-saving for working residents commuting to jobs. Improving subway network would meet fundamental needs of commuters, especially outer-borough residents, who are bearing traffic delays and high commuter fee each year. It means more people would prefer public transit rather than driving, and therefore reduce the road traffic congestion. Furthermore, subways are more attractive options in case of harsh weather, which tends to cause more car accidents and heavy traffic congestion.

In conclusion, building more road might not be as practical as estimated, and I believe that improving public transport would have positive impact on traffic issue for a long term.