Some people believe that it is best to accept a bad situation, such as an unsatisfactory job or shortage of money. Others argue that it is better to try and improve such situations. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Many people find themselves in a situation where they must either accept what life has given to them or find a way to move up in the world. In my opinion, although accepting your situation in life may be pragmatic in some cases, it is still better to at least strive to improve your situation as it can be usually bettered to some degree.

To begin with, the vast majority of people are unable to change their life circumstances. As a result, they find comfort by accepting fate so they may feel more satisfied with their lives. One clear example are the people that live in dire economic condition. Recent researches, put Africa among poorest countries in the world. One reason for this, is the lack of infrastructure development and corruption. For a person living in a small village, ravaged by conflicts and famine it would be cruel to suggest that they should find a way to improve their living because it might simply be impossible. For that reason, those people understand the situation that they are in and focus more on their own survival and that of their family.

On the other hand, few people can change their difficult situations for the better through continued effort. Besides that, what have distinguished this people in difference to other, is their mindset of not giving up. There is a tendency to believe that, by reading self development books, people can open their mind to be more determined. As a result, they can archive their objectives and being fearless in front of different obstacles during the way.

To encapsulate, there are very few situations where it would be advisable to simply accept an unhappy situation because hard work over long period of time will prevail in the vast majority of cases.