Some people believe that it is better to choose friends who always have the same opinions as them. Other people believe that it is good to have friends who sometimes disagree with them. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Different people have a distinct set of ideologies regarding the choice of friends and their opinions. One school of thought believe that having friends with similar thoughts is a much better option; whilst their counterparts assert that friends having different opinions are the best in the friendship. This essay would aim to delineate the merits of both the conflicting viewpoints before a reasoned conclusion is reached upon.

To commence with, there are some potential benefits of the companions with similar ideas. For one, there would be lesser chances of disputes and arguments, as all of them have agreed with one's choice. This belief can be validated from the fact that similar choices and opinions in the friendship, makes the relationship more strengthened. Take the case of old people, for instance, they have agreed with their partner's viewpoints in the different situations of life, due to their calmness and patience. Therefore, they have always felt satisfied with their soul mates. As a matter of fact, the practice of making alike choice friends has some undeniable advantages.

On the flip side, the opponents of the aforementioned viewpoint deem to choose the variable choice partners as the distinct ideas led the talk more interesting and enthusiastic. To be more specific, they are able to perform different tasks with a plethora of innovative thoughts, thereby decreasing the monotony in their relations. For illustration, according to a recent article published in The Guardian; the friend-circles with opposite-sex pupils have a higher probability to accomplish the school projects owing to their variable and ingenious ideas, as compared to the single-sex groups. Hence, the outcomes due to variations in the thoughts cannot be ignored.

It is my considered opinion that the views should be altered according to the situation and interest of the partner; however, distinct ideas could be more productive, in the long run.

To recapitulate, the viewpoints of people with regard to their friend's opinions have discussed. It has been categorically highlighted that similar thoughts make the relations more concrete, but the variation and disagreements make more productive and creative ideas.