Some people believe that preserving natural environment is crucial. However, most make no effort to do so. Why do you think this is happening? What are some simple actions that could help the environment?

It is irrefutable that environmental damage is occurring at a very fast pace and people

know that it is a global priority today to save the environment. However, when it comes to

doing something, no one steps forward. In this essay I intend to delve into the causes of

this phenomenon and suggest simple measures which can be taken at the individual level.

There are many reasons behind the indifferent attitude of people. The main reason is that

we people don’t know that we are also the cause of environmental damage. We don’t

realise that global warming is the result of billions of decisions. We are cutting down trees

for our needs; we are using too many luxuries in the home; we are driving too many cars

and we are wasting resources like fresh water. If only awareness is brought about these

things then many people would take a step forward in this direction.

People are also not doing anything because they think that it is a global problem and only

government action can solve it. What has to be made clear is that small measure taken at

the individual level will take mammoth dimensions when mounted up. For example, in a

country like India with a population of more than one billion, if each person plants a tree

and nurtures it for the first few months, the result would be un-imaginable. We can all

take simple steps like recycling things such as newspapers, plastics and glass. We could

also walk for short distances instead of using our vehicles and for long distances we could

use the public transport.

Another reason why people do little about the environment is that people have become

very busy in their pursuit of wealth and fame that they have no time to think about the

environment. What they don’t realise that if nothing is done today, it might be too late

tomorrow. The rate at which global warming is occurring would soon transform the Earth

into a boiling pot and it would be un-inhabitable for us one day.

To put it in a nutshell, I pen down saying that the onus of saving the environment is not

just on the shoulders of the governments and big industries. We all must come forward

and do our bit to save the environment before it is too late. It has rightly been said –“little

drops of water, little grains of sand, make the mighty ocean and the vast land”