Some people believe that professional athletes serve as positive role models for young people, while others argue that their behavior, both on and off the field, can have negative influences.

Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Although some people believe professional athletes' behaviors, both on and off the field, can negatively impact young people, others think they can serve as a good role model. The following paragraphs will elaborate on these both views and explain why the positive points are more dominant.

Professional athletes are a good sample of individuals who have struggled hard to reach their goals. They managed to cope with their fears, such as failure, while becoming a champion, and almost all of them come from less affluent families, which represents the subject that many children and young people from deprived conditions can reach this prestigious level and prosperity. Therefore, children try to follow these athletes and push hard for their dreams. In addition, some expert athletes hold events to help many charities or fund money for needy people, such as a foundation for children who have cancer, which attracts their followers' attention and teaches them how everyone is responsible for caring for needy individuals.

On the other hand, almost all athletes cooperate with many brands and advertise many products on and off the field, which may increase consumerism and fake needs. For example, football players play in an advertisement that advertises a new model of cell phone, or they wear special clothes during the game that advertises a new brand of shoes. Therefore, their followers try to purchase these new products they may not necessarily need. Additionally, these athletes may have some negative habits outside of the pitch. For example, they may use cigarettes and vapes, which are very harmful to the body, and their followers use these products to be like their role models.

To sum up, almost all professional athletes can be appropriate role models for teenagers and young people, although some may have drawbacks in their on and off-field behaviors.