Some people believe that school children should learn some practical skills like car maintenance, opening a bank account or learning about other traditional skills.

There is widespread speculation that depicts that young children should be learning practical skills along with the mandatory academic subjects in their schools. I opine with the above statement and the below essay will portray my understanding with supporting examples.

Undoubtedly, academic skills promote a student in achieving the goals set for his life. But practical skills will assist an individual to accustom with the society and to know what the life living ways are. Car maintenance, opening a bank account, solving issues within a society are few skills that are not taught in the schools. For example, a mechanical engineer might not be able to repair his car, but a simple undergraduate mechanic would do that in minutes.

Secondly, practical skills for a student are learnt through passion and interest. Strictly, abiding with the curricula will not gain us with righteous knowledge. Many of the scholars in this world in the present generation are college dropouts who followed their passion with the practical knowledge they had. For example, Narendra Modi, known to be the most successful leader in Indian history, has not even passed his fifth grade. He has not learnt these political sciences from any college or university. He gained it from the practical knowledge he possessed and the life experiences he gained.

To conclude, academic subject skills will help a student to gain bookish knowledge, but practical skills would help him in later parts of his life.