Some people believe that sport is an essential part of school life for children, while
others feel it should be purely optional. Discuss these opposing views and give your own opinion.
Sport continues to be a controversial topic in the school curriculum, just as sport itself has
become a controversial industry in some respects. There are valid opinions on both sides, which I
will consider now.
On the one hand, some people feel that sport uses up time which could be better spent on
academic subjects such as exam preparation. In addition, it might be said that it is unwise to force
children to do activities which they have no interest in. After all, some youngsters are just not sporty,
and should allowed to study instead. Finally, there are question marks over the wholesomeness of
sport itself, with drugging and corruption scandals increasingly common, as we see in cycling at
present. Some people believe that this lack of morals sets a poor example to young people.
On the other hand, though, one major benefit of sport is that it helps children’s physical
development at an important stage. If all their time spent on study, they would become unfit and
their minds would eventually suffer. Furthermore, supporters of school sport emphasize the
importance of team building in sports such as football or hockey, which is often felt to be an excellent
preparation for adulthood. Finally, many people feel that a competitive spirit, so important today, is
fostered by sports at an early age. It is notable, such as, that many successful business people
excelled in sport at school.
Overall, I feel that sport should be compulsory for school children, because the positive effect
on their mental and physical development outweighs the negatives. This is as long as children are
given a wide range to choose from, to make sure their interest is high, and that the sports industry itself
maintains the highest standards of conduct.