Some people believe that time spent on television video and computer games can be beneficial to children Others believe this has negative effect on a child Discuss both views and give your opinion

It is believed by some that usage of digital media benefits young generation, where others claim that this trend brings manifold detrimental effects on children. This essay discusses both sides of the view and then I will give my own perspective.

On the one hand, allowing youngsters to spend time with public media or playing games can lead to positive outcomes because it can help to manage stress and gain extra knowledge. Younger generation sometimes are under constant stress due to competitive education system nowadays, hence spending time watching video or playing games might help to reduce stress levels. Moreover, this will prevent young adults from going outside with gangs, loitering in public places or getting into troubles, because they can spend a good time watching television and playing games. Had they not been busy with their phones or tablets, they could have gone outside with gangs and even put themselves in troubles.

On the other hand, others claim that there are negative impacts of this behaviour such as reduced physical activity or wasting too much time on digital media. It is often can be seen that adolescents are spending too much time on television or other digital devices, resulting a sedentary life style. While reduced physical activities are linked with health risks such as obesity or heart disease, prolonged usage of digital screen also lead to health issues such as vision problems. Worse yet, juveniles may also loose focus on their educational activities if they get addicted to social media.

In conclusion, both sides of the arguments have their merits. On balance, however, I tend to believe that usage of digital media is still acceptable given that it is not overused or exploited. Parents should be wary to keep eye on children and make things under control.