Some people choose to have their first child at an older age. What are the reasons?

Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.

Nowadays, there is a growing trend among couples to have delayed parenthood. There are varying reasons for this and this trend certainly has some positive and negative impacts on society and family life. I personally believe the outcome of this trend is overall more positive than negative.

These days young people put more emphasis on their professional life and financial security. We are now living in a competitive job market world and this heightened obsession with professional life has caused people to start parenthood at later stages of their life. Secondly, the increased expenses of having a child is another justification for this decision. For example, the hospital expense for childbirth and their education is costly these days which causes parents to have children after gaining some financial security in their life.

On one hand, there are some advantages to this trend. By gaining maximum career growth and financial stability in their life parents can provide better care and facilities to their kids. Secondly, people become more mature as they age and that maturity will help them raise their children.

On the other hand, having children at old age can pose serious health risks for both mother and kid. For instance, it is scientifically proven that having children after 40 years can cause some serious physical issues and complications for the mother.

To sum up, I believe it is a personal choice of parents to have children at what stage of their life. While there are some benefits and problems caused by it, I believe that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages