Some people feel academics should be given more importance than extra- curricular activities in schools and colleges. What is your opinion?

In educational systems, where marks scored in examinations stand as the main criterion for defining success, it is not surprising that schools and parents give more importance to text book studies and rote learning. However, education does not mean mere dissemination of knowledge. Its main objective is to promote holistic personalities and as such, I believe, confidence building activities are as important as learning from books.

Co-curricular activities like Public Speaking and Theatre, work wonders in increasing communication skills and confidence. This will help the students to shine in interviews and group discussions, thereby increasing their chances of landing prestigious jobs. Music, dance and other performing arts remove stage fright, opening doors for further interaction with a large audience. More importantly, such recreations serve to relax the overworked brain and re-infuse interest for more brainwork.

Playground is the best place where the foundation of character can be laid. Group sports promote team spirit, give and take attitude and the mindset to put the needs of the team before one’s selfish interests. Sports, not only provides physical fitness but also mental well-being. It also inculcates leadership qualities, people management abilities and provides valuable lessons in co-operation. This will stand the students in good stead when they move out of the portals of schools and join the work force. Therefore, educational institutes should provide adequate environment for physical exercise as well as mentally stimulating activities that can lay foundation for well- rounded personalities.

To conclude, in my view, academic excellence combined with support activities such as public speaking and sports are of utmost importance for shaping a generation that can withstand the challenges of life.