Some people feel that TV advertisements have no functional use for viewers, others disagree.

What is your opinion?

In the Modern era of technology, the world is enslaved to many new gimmicks of wishful thinking. Advertising plays the most vital role in molding thoughts, beliefs, and mindsets. It caters to a large audience and leaves an evermore lasting visual impact.

Advertising is a communication, in the form of attractive visuals, audio, and video. TV commercials have been one of the most popular mediums of advertising. It is said to have maximum reach and the most effective way of communication. While many people watch TV for leisure, there are plenty of others that find it a source of information.

Advertising may have seemed to be of no functional use, to those who like watching uninterrupted entertainment channels and shows. Advertisements these days can be misleading and overly exaggerated for effect. It could be conceived as a waste of time for those who have no interest in a particular product or service being advertised. People are more educated now, and this makes them aware of the pros and cons. A TV commercial advocating provoking negative thoughts or mannerisms are opposed on a large scale. For example, cigarettes are banned from adverting, as its injurious to Health. Since it is the most popular and fastest means of information, it should be used carefully. For example, people are now increasingly become aware of the marketing tactics of discreetly promoting racial discrimination and body shaming. Creating an enveloped demand by advertising fairness products and skinny jeans as fashion trends and setting unrealistic norms of being socially accepted.

On the other hand, adverting is a source of knowledge and information. People view TV commercials, as a review of the product. It creates awareness and serves the purpose of the audiences which is entertainment and information. A person may be mesmerized with the glamour and enchantment, projected in these ad films which leads to sales. Having a popular mascot or ambassador for a brand could attract their fan following to turn into loyal customers of that particular brand. For example, the famous cricketer M. S Dhoni, featuring in a Snickers chocolate commercial, is popularising the chocolate amongst his huge fan base as well. Awareness of a growing disease, it’s cause and prevention, can be informed to a large audience in a matter of minutes. TV commercials are most successful when they are relatable and are remembered long after, due to their emotional connection with its viewers. It is a researched fact, that most people have a positive impact from tv advertisements, as it is in a way molding thoughts and creating better lifestyles. For example spreading awareness campaigns for social causes such as Cleanliness, Environmental changes, and birth control pills.

I strongly support the idea that advertisements are useful. In my opinion, it plays a prime role in shaping young minds and enriching the learned.