Some people prefer to buy local products while others prefer international products. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In global connected world and e-commerce business model, it is very easy to access information about the available local and overseas products to buy online. People have now more options to choose products between local or international markets. Although, I disagree on buying international products over local products to some extent because of economics and business disparity in countries.

To start with, some people are purchasing imported products because they believe that the merchandise is well built and it will last much longer than local goods. For example, young adults tend to buy branded shoes like Nike, Adidas or Converse, which in fact will cost them a hefty amount of money in their pocket. Although it is much expensive than locally made shoes they still tend to buy those things since that it is made to last long qualitatively.

But on the other side, wide range of products are domestically made with indigenous materials of quality, considering various local factors such as season, traditions and economic factors. In fact, some products we need to buy from near vicinity only due to the freshness of vegetables, fishes, fresh meats, fruits and could be a great advantage of local markets. At the same time, the price difference is another reason for going to local markets are better places for shopping. It is indeed true that the local market offers a comparatively cheaper price and facility to exchange things on a same day. Therefore, these advantages exemplify the necessity to buy from local markets. Why people prefer it?

Local markets are significant place to socialize people and help countryside population economically. We cannot ignore this business model throughout the world, however, we could adopt new technique systems to help growth and make them organize. Therefore, it is indirect contribution to gross domestic product of country and support to government and society.

Though, I agree to the statement that most of the people in today’s era would patronize foreign products rather than a locally made but we should support local products to play important role in country economy and prosperity of local people in an educated society.