Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills.

Do you agree or disagree?

I concede that in all levels of education, from primary to universities, the set curriculum tend to give more time of teaching theoretical facts which leaves skills that require practical extension remain unpolished. Though the importance of learning facts cannot be overlooked and without prior knowledge and research any new things remain imperceptible for a longer period of time.

In schools, students are prepared with the basics of all subject and bombarded with reading materials which bores them and eventually takes them longer time to keep in their mind. As per statistics, students now a days study for the sake of exam and cannot retain those information any longer after that certain period. The practical course will give purpose to their education. For instance, a child not knowing how he can implement algebra in his practical life most likely does not get any interest in learning mathematics. Incorporation of practical lessons regarding algebra such as showing them how algebra teaches them for time management after waking up etc. can boost student’s interest.

Then again in universities we learn a lot of new things but have zero knowledge how to implement in life when required. For example, a law students learns all the laws and articles but when it comes to use in courtroom he cannot present it well and therefore loses. That is why it is very pivotal to have practical session where students can show and practice simultaneously what they are learning.

In sum, it can be said that we learn so that we can shine in our life by implementing those. But if curriculum is not designed on how to use those learned skill then we have to let luck play their courses for students and majority students give in and eventually cannot succeed.