Some people say that giving a smaller amount of money weekly to children will help them become more capable as they grow older.

Do you agree or disagree?

Financial maturity among children is an interesting topic that often brings up mixed opinions. Although there are many people who agree in providing a small amount of money to children every week, the other half of parents are against the idea of offering money to children at the early stages of their life. This essay agrees with the former and will discuss both points of view.

On the one hand, exposing children to take monetary decisions will definitely promote healthy spending habits in them. At the same time, it is also absolutely essential for parents to enquire about their children on how they spend money which was given to them. If the child bought something which was not supposed to be a sensible choice, parents should explain it to them on why it was a wrong choice. It is also necessary to take feedback from the children on their reasoning behind the purchase. Consistent feedback on their financial decisions will necessitate them to think extensively before making any purchases in the future.

On the other hand, some people often say that children could end up consuming illegal substances like drugs if they have money in hand. This is entirely a wrong perception as most of the illegal habits are often inherited from the bad company of their friends. So instead of denying them money, an ideal choice would be to closely monitor the friend's circle of the child and ensure that they are not circled by suspicious people.

To recapitulate, spending money in the right manner is an art and many people, in spite of being matured are still finding it difficult to attain financial maturity. In order to achieve the financial maturity, it is essential that the children are given a role in making correct financial decisions at childhood itself.Remember, seeds imparted at the early stages molds the financial characteristics of a child rather than being a spendthrift in the future.