It is a government’s responsibility to satisfy its citizens’ basic needs such as electricity, clean drinking water, freeway, and affordable housing. Some people think a high taxes is necessary. Nevertheless, others disagree, there is a controversial division about the high taxes.

Raising taxes to meet people's needs is a real thing that the government needs to consider. Due to a rapid increase in human population, serving everyone’s needs has become a challenging task and it requires tremendous resources. Since taxes are the only source of income for governments, there is no other way to fulfill people’s needs other than increasing taxes. For instance, Denmark has one of the highest tax rates in the world, the government makes the guarantee on education and healthcare. Thus the Danish think they are not paying taxes, they are investing in their society, and they are purchasing quality of life.

On the other hand, some people worry about that high taxes will probably kill entrepreneurship and investment. The political decision-makers should bear in mind that entrepreneurship is affected by fiscal policy. When taxes are high, there are fewer entrepreneurs, and fewer businesses are created, fewer investment, which means that less wealth is created. There are studies which show that high taxes reduce the funding available for business creation.

In conclusion, governments need to follow a combined strategy of raising taxes, they should not only fulfil the needs of the citizens but also consider the development of the country. They need the better public services, and need the GDP as well. So, I think that the balance of taxes can lead to the circular flow of economy, lead to the greater communal facilities, and lead to people’s happiness in the end.