Some people say International sports events help in world peace. Do you agree or disagree?

Gone are the days when unions battle with each other , since Greece created Olympic Games which has been used as an alternative of wars. Some critics argue that International sports events can reduce the proportion of violence and friction among certain countries, while I do not share their view.

Admittedly, international sports events indeed replace some argument which should have been solved by wars. It is widely accepted that these events serve as symbols of country power and status, which had been previously mirrored by weapon and army. For instance, according to a recent research, the ranking of Olympic Games is equivalent to country power ranking, which help those less developed countries figure out their position with regard to their country power. Consequently, international sports events contribute positively to avoiding conflicts among countries.

Nevertheless, the negative aspects result from international sports events should be aware of as well. Initially, these events are not able to resolve certain fundamental issues. For example, territory dispute cannot be fixed by these grand sport meetings, considering that countries struggle for resources and lands, which is closely associated with lives of human beings. Moreover, international sports events also frequently bring about arguments between two countries. Audiences always support their player from their own country, which might trigger hostile emotions or behaviors against the audience from competitor’s countries. What’s more, sometimes the dispute among audience would deteriorate relationship among countries.

In a word, basing on the discussion on both sides, I believe that international sports events slightly affect the world peace rather than preserving it.