Some people say it is manufacturers and supermarket's responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging of products they sell and others say it is the consumers responsibility to avoid buying

products with too much packaging

The usage of packed products has increased excessively in last few years, which has made it an issue of concern. However, according to some people manufacturing of packed products should be minimized by industrialists and limits need to be imposed on selling of such items in city centers, while others assist the buyers to minimize the consumption of these products. This essay will focus on both the views and will state my opinion that usage of over packaged products can be reduced only by decreasing the quantity of its production and sale.

On the one hand, it is evident that the manufacturers and supermarkets are the roots for the generation of products with heavy coating of plastic packaging. The non-biodegradable materials are generally used for packaging the products, consequently, excessive usage of such products can degrade the environment and can affect the health of individuals. Therefore, by reducing the quantity of production the detrimental effects of packed products can be minimize to large

extent. Moreover, the cost of providing layered covering to products is quite high, for that reason, manufacturers can use recycled paper for packaging. Also, it is the responsibility of shopping centers to approve the products with minimal plastic covering to sell in the centers. For instance, in China government has passed a bill according to which industrialists are obliged to pack the products with recycled materials, this has reduced the usage of plastic.

On the other hand, it is also the responsibility of consumers to be aware of the harmful effects of packed products and should limit its consumption. The food items can contaminate by reacting with toxic plastic materials. Additionally, the contaminated food can cause serious health problems and can disturb the healthy life of buyers. For example, the scientific research has proven that the consumption of milk in packed plastic bottles, after three days of packaging can cause food poisoning. As a result, it is quite necessary to avoid consumption of packed products considering its detrimental effects on health.

Finally, in my opinion the reduction in use of products with over packaging by buyers is required but to reduce the amount of manufacturing and selling is much more important to limit its complete usage. To exemplify, UK government has imposed high taxes on the production of plastic packaging, which has reduced its production and marketing. Thus, it is clear that actions taken at manufacturers and supermarkets end play a key role in tackling the issue.

In conclusion, it can be stated that in order to have fresh environment and healthy body a collaborative effort need to be taken by industrialists and individuals to curb the use of over packed products. Although the supreme responsibility lies on the shoulders of manufacturers and shopping centers, as they hold the power to limit the supply of plastic items, so that buyers can never consume them. In near future, it will definitely become an urgent need for the government to pass some laws to limit the use of plastic packaging.