Some people say that it is possible to tell a lot about a person’s culture and character from their choice of clothes.

Do you agree or disagree?

People frequently consider that a person can be described based on the clothes they wear. In my opinion, there are other factors that contribute to a particular persons’ nature and their perception of culture. The essay will discuss my views for the disagreement.

To begin with, times have changed, and a significant proportion of the people’s style of clothing has changed to adapt to their needs. Most people wear clothes according to their level of comfort. Some people wear uniforms depending on the type of job they are in. This is related to their office culture. Furthermore, it would be difficult and biased to evaluate a person by their clothes. For example, a thief wearing a suit and pant may appear to be a gentleman who is in contrast to his nature. In order to perceive ones', character more information is very much important.

However, in some cases it can be assumed about a persons’ character when comparing between two people. For example, a woman wearing a scarf is considered to be more religious than someone who is not wearing one. Even though both could be equally religious, the difference is their opinions on wearing scarves. It is merely their choices based on their opinions. It is equally substantial to take into consideration their social culture that might influence their taste.

In conclusion, though assumptions can be made about a person based on their preference of clothes but it requires a more in-depth knowledge about the persons’ life to actually determine their character or their culture.