some people say that parents should encourage their children to take part in organised group activities in their free time. Other say that it is important for children to learn how to occupy themselves on their own. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In the recent times, due to new technology children spend most of their time in playing games or socializing themselves on the internet. some people motivate their children to engage in organized group activities. However, some parents disagree with the above statement because they believe that children can learn skills themselves. I agree that parents should let indulge children in organized group programs. Let us discus both the given points in detail in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, there are several advantages of taking part in organized group programs for children. First and foremost, primary benefit is that children can develop their social skills. To explain, child can learn how to interact with people in their society and also learn from team building activities such as working in a group. If children can take part in group activities, they learn the importance of working with their teammates to achieve their common goal and such skills will benefit them in their future. To illustrate, a survey conducted by the National Sample Survey Office, in 2009 in New Delhi, on a group of 500 children ranging between 12-20 years, revealed that 82% of them preferred to take part in organized group activities because they believed that through these activities they learnt importance of working with the team.

On the contrary, few people assert that children can learn themselves how to manage their free time. Primarily, some parents giving the freedom to their children so that they can learn to take up challenges and responsibility. To elaborate, few people believe that self management of their time helps the child to learn different things and they become more independent. these activities not only keep them engaged, but also help them discover their hidden talents. For instance, Mr. Benjamin Bradlee, Editor-in-chief of 'The Washington Post' in his April 2012,editorial on 'Self Independence for the Children are A Bane or Boon', stated that children who manage their time themselves are more independent.

In my opinion, some parents should encourage their children to indulge in group activities that are beneficial for the growth of the children. To clarify, I believe so because these activities can help the children to develop their overall personality and also improve their skills.To exemplify, a research conducted by the Oxford University, in 2019, in the UK, on a group of 600 children, ranging between 15-22 years, revealed that 89% of them believed that these activities enhance the confidence levels and also improved their skills.

To encapsulate, parents should encourage their child to take part in organized group activities because these activities help them to become responsible citizens to take part in different activities so they become more independent.