For the survival of all livelihood, protecting the environment is essential. Be that as it may, there has been a long debate going on whether it should be the responsibility of the government or each individual. This essay examines both sides and explains why it should be the responsibility of each individual to save the environment.

The national authority can always take some firm steps and make a big revolution to protect the environment. The first of those steps relate to the introduction of policies, which can force the nation to protect the environment. The government, for example, can come up with a rule that people should maximize the use of public transport or bicycles, which will reduce the emission of carbon in the air. Another strategy that the ruling organization can come up with is to provide the subsidy to the local businesses and industries working on the generation of alternate energy production.

Whatever the government does for the protection of the environment, it cannot achieve the results until every individual takes this as a responsibility. The citizens can help the government by doing small things like planting trees. If every individual starts doing this, there will be a rapid increase in the number of rainy days and oxygen in the air. One more but equally important part, the taxpayers can play is to save vital environmental resources like water, oil, or electricity. To achieve this, they should think of every possible thing to either reuse these resources or find some alternate way of this energy.

After debating on both sides, it is self-evident that the government cannot successfully protect the environment unless the people of the country give every possible support to the policies and the efforts of the government.