Some people say young people playing electronic and computer games learn useful skills but some people say young people are wasting their time. Discuss and give your opinion.

There have always been arguments over the impacts of electronic and computer games on the young. Although some groups believe that playing games could be beneficial to learning certain skills, I would side with those who suppose that these games cause time-wasting.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why video games are considered to make substantial contributions to upgrading some essential skills in young people. Firstly, many games, such as puzzle or role-playing games, encourage imagination and creativity to investigate and overcome missions in games so that young players have chances to develop their problem-solving skills. Secondly, players can gradually improve their reflexes and concentration through shooting or action games, which means that they are able to demonstrate more effectively daily tasks which specifically those practical skills.

On the other hand, I would argue that a huge amount of time could be wasted if youngsters play digital games. Many games are designed to keep people playing them continuously to reach numerous targets or get rewards, so young people could be unconsciously addicted to video games. As a result, the time for study or family and social relationships could be affected. In addition, skills boosted in computer games can be acquired from other activities, such as reading books or participating in sports clubs. These options foster not only life skills but also qualifications which are positively critical to pursue their career in the future.

In conclusion, although some people suggest that digital entertainments are flourishing for youngsters’ skills, I believe that our next generation should limit wasting time on them to prioritize their studying.