Some people sya that the government should stop TV and newspapers from showing crimes because media coverage of violent crime is frightening people and encouraging criminals. Do you agree or disagree with the statement?

Nowadays crimes are increasing rapidly. Some people believe that violence begets violence. There is no doubt, sensational news coverage of violence is providing a free media platforms to criminals. It also terrifies citizens, and encourage the criminals for new ways of violence. However, I do believe stopping or censoring tha print or digital media from reporting such incidents for variety of reasons, described as below

The evidence does suggest that the reporting of violence can trigger further crime. On account of this, two pattern emerge in society. Firstly, it encourages the criminals to copy the modus operandi for their cause. Some criminals glorify act of wrongdoing and felony. Secondly, some hard-core criminals need media attention to spread their message, create fear and recruit followers. Apparently, the criminal psychology stemming from these pattern is disturbing, and could endanger citizens life and peace. Considering this fact, the first human reaction comes is to stop reporting such incidents.

In contrast, some people believe that shying away from the reality never serves the purpose. They assert that such reporting helps citizens to be aware of crime happening near them. They get perceived warning for their safety by watching or reading such crime reports. For example, the popular TV show, 'crime petrol' analyses the behaviour of criminals. The informed and sagacious citizens learn the positive of this crime show to protect themselves from falling into any trap.

In conclusion, this ethical dilemma reminds us of a great expression-"Is this glass half-full or half-empty?" I acknowledge the fact, media coverage of violence leads to further violence, and frightens people. At the same time, prohibition of reporting violence does not serve the purpose in the democratic setting.