Some people think that all university students should study whatever
they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study
subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to
science and technology.
Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.
people have different views about how much choice students should have
with regard to what they can study at university. While some argue that it
would be better for students to be forced into certain key subject areas, I
believe that everyone should be able to study the course of their choice.
There are various reasons why people believe that universities should only
offer subjects that will be useful in the future. they may assert that
university courses like medicine, engineering and information technology
are more likely to be beneficial than certain art degrees. From a personal
perspective, it can be argued that these courses provide more job
opportunities, career progression, better salaries, and therefore an
improved quality of life for students who take them. On the societal level,
by forcing people to choose particular university subjects, governments
can ensure that any knowledge and skill gaps in the economy are covered.
Finally, a focus on technology in higher education could lead to new
inventions, economic growth, and greater future prosperity.
In spite of these arguments, I believe that university students should be
free to choose their preferred areas of study. In my opinion, society will
benefit more if our students are passionate about what they are learning.
Besides, nobody can really predict which areas of knowledge will be most
useful to society in the future, and it may be that employers begin to value
creative thinking skills above practical or technical skills. if this were the
case, perhaps we would need more students of art, history and philosophy
than of science or technology.
In conclusion, although it might seem sensible for universities to focus only
on the most useful subjects, I personally prefer the current system in which
people have the right to study whatever they like.