Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology.

Few people are of the opinion that every university should let the students study whatever they like. However, some feel that students should be only allowed to study subjects that will help them in the future like topics related to science and technology.

In the first place, the current world does not care much about the job role. There are all sorts of jobs in the place and equal respect for every job. The days are long gone when a person will be tagged respectable if they are a lawyer, doctor, or an engineer. These days, students follow their passion. There are more people in entertainment, music, and art, sports, painting, sculpture, and many more. Today's generation believes in working in their hobby field so that they do not feel work pressure holding them down. They feel like going to work cause they enjoy their job and are not forced to.

Coming to the point where people feel that students should be taught only topics related to science and technology, it makes sense on the pay scale. These jobs are not only well established but have outstanding pay. People have more streamlined promotions and are handsomely paid. The job timings are also only forty hours in a week. Therefore, people have more time to explore other hobbies like traveling, cooking, singing to name a few. This helps them to have two separate lives, like one where they have to work to sustain themselves and then they have a life which they do to relax. This way, they not only have the option to change their hobby as per their desire but also they never feel their hobby is a burden.

In conclusion, though both opinions have their own merits and demerits, I feel universities should not limit imparting knowledge only to science and technology. It is an institution where students come to learn more on the subject they want to and in the end, it is their call whether they wish to pursue a career in the same or not. However, limiting knowledge only to a few fields is not desirable.