Some people think that the best way to improve road safety is to increase the minimum legal age for driving a car or motor-bike. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals argue that raising the minimum driving age is the optimal solution to ensuring road safety. Although I agree with this approach is advantageous to a certain extent, I think the better solution is to impose the stricter laws.

Increasing the legal age for driving is beneficial due to several reasons. Firstly, since young people are less mature and irresponsible, they might be hardly aware of the importance of abiding by the rules. Teens’ thrill-seeking behaviour, mood swings and impulses have the potential to adversely affect their driving skills. Therefore, they are more likely to violate the laws, which could result in serious road accidents. Secondly, older drivers have a greater pool of experience than younger participants, so they are capable of reacting quickly and handling emergencies properly.

However, a better way to increase road safety would be by imposing strict laws for driving and ensuring the implementation of these laws by the traffic police and punishing those who break these laws with heavy fines and by impounding their vehicles and revoking their licences if the offence is repeated multiple times. In addition to that, increased surveillance and monitoring of traffic through cameras should be done so that drivers are aware that they are being monitored at al times and do not break the law in fear of getting punished. In my opinion, these actions mentioned above are more likely to bear results in regards to enhancing road safety than the suggested change in minimum legal age for driving.

In conclusion, I would like to reiterate that increasing the legal minimum age for driving will serve no purpose and other steps, as mentioned above, need to be taken to increase road safety.