Some people think that the best way to run a business is within the family. What are the advantages and disadvantages of a family run business?

In today’s world doing a small scale or large scale business is not unusual. Even family run business are popular in many countries. This essay will examine the advantages and disadvantages before coming to a logical conclusion.

First of all on a business that is run within the family, the people will be well aware of the trade and also the contacts they possess will be enormous since the trade has been carried across generations. Moreover, they can withstand if any trivial loss happens because of the business. Few of the prominent businesses such as ornaments, construction, restaurants are mostly run within the family and it catalyzes the growth of business. For example, US President Donald Trump’s family is running their market successfully since five decades. It not only enables their wealth but also enhance the country’s wealth by different methods like Tax reforms, Goods Service Taxes etc.

On the other hand, this phenomenon has few demerits. Though the people is well educated and want to try some other professional careers, it is impossible. Although business tricks are known to them, there is a chance of risk in terms of loss in their business due to various reasons. For instance, due to the advancement of internet, people often don’t like to shop in person and order online. Thus, those who are without the knowledge of internet and peer competition, they may have no choice than to leave their industry.

To summarize, even though doing family run business in the competitive world is subjected to risk, the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. It is beneficial for the individuals as well for the country as they have support personally too. I hope the risks are fairly managed by insuring the products at the right time.