Some people think that books are losing importance as a source of information and entertainment. To what extent do you agree?

Books have always been considered the first resource to gather information, but in recent times, they are losing their importance due to the onset of Internet. I completely agree, with the statement and in this essay, I will illustrate how the popularity of the internet has threatened the reliability on books.

To begin with, finding information on the internet is exponentially faster and inexpensive than compared to books. For example, any information a user needs can be searched and found within second on google.com and for free. In order to get the same information through books, one will have to purchase the book which is a time consuming endevour and with higher costs incurred. Additionally, one can secure far more in depth information through internet than in comparison to books which may be limitedly available to an user.

Secondly, visual media as an entertainment medium, has become more appealing and easily consumable than books. Fewer people are consuming books for relaxing than before. To add to the point, wide variety of entertainment options are available on the internet to suffix dopamine cravings of all types of users.

Hence, In my opinion, as the popularity of the internet is growing, the popularity of books as the go-to source of information and entertainment is drastically decreasing and this trend will cease to go down with time.