Some people think that cities are the best places to live. Others prefer to live in a rural area. Compare the advantages and disadvantages of living in the city to living in the countryside.

These days, many people are quite concerned about choosing the right place to live their own life. In this essay, I will look at the pros and cons, aspects of living in large and crowded town compared to the countryside and draw a reasoned conclusion based on my ideas.

One of the most significant benefits of settling in a city is health care. Usually, there is well-functioning health care system available to citizens of the town such as hospital and clinics, with many specialised doctors and healthcare professionals. For example, in the city, it is very convenient to find physicians, dentists and nurses. In contrast, often habitants of the rural area have to travel all the way to the city to visit the professionals in the city. As a result, people who live in the countryside suffer from the lack of health care laboratories, hospitals and chamber of professional doctors which are not close to them and is one of the reasons people prefer to stay closer to city centres. Furthermore, a city offers better educational, recreational and employment facilities which are quite tough to find in a rural area.

However, the crime is the biggest challenge that inhabitants of a crowded city have to face. For example, murder, rape, theft, motor vehicle offence, drugs abuse, firearms & offensive weapon cases are more common in city areas than in a countryside. Even with criminal justice system and punishment by state law in cities, the rate of these heinous crimes is much higher there than any other part of the country such as villages and rural area. The rate of the crime is much less in a countryside than a city due to the less population and economic factors of that area. As a result, the people who live in a countryside are much protected against violation of their rights.

In conclusion, both large towns and urban areas have some conveniences and drawbacks for its citizens. Living location should ultimately be chosen depending on an individual's base on their professional job. For example, farmer ideally will choose the rural area and on the other hand, IT professional will prefer to be close to city centre.