Over thousands of years, money has evolved from bartering, to gold coins and to minted coins and paper money. In the near future, people believe that online banking and credit cards will completely replace the physical form of money. After careful considerations about this new trend, the conclusion is that there are more positives in using credit cards due to reasons of convenience, transparency and security.

Although carrying coins and notes limits your impetuous spending, it can be quite cumbersome to bring it with you. Carrying a single credit card for all your purchases offers incredible convenience. The shopping experience is expedited and there is also no need to wait for any change. If you run a business, paying and accepting payment by credit card also increases your business profits because your customers or partners prefer the ease of credit card payments. The processing of online monetary transactions is either instantaneous or takes a couple of days. On the other hand, paying by cash is slows down your cash flow efficiency. Using online banking and debit or credit cards also improves transparency and accountability. Government can easily keep track of electronic money and as a result, reduces corruption rates, which is not the case for cash because of its anonymous nature. Accountability in citizens’ tax is also increased as individuals cannot report below what they earn, for tax calculations. Furthermore, credit cards offer added layers of security from theft that cash does not have. When your cash is stolen, you cannot get it back unless the thief leaves evidence behind. If your credit card gets stolen, the issuing bank will cancel the stolen card and issue a new one. On top of that, online banking services also offer two factor verification process to authenticate the user. These safeguard measures protect the account holder from larceny. With these significant explanations, there is no doubt about the benefits of moving closer towards a world where only electronic currency and credit cards are utilized.

Despite the advantages mentioned above, credit card users have historically shown how easy it is to overspend and accumulating mountains of debt. One advantage of cash is that it is harder to buy impulsively because you can only buy with whatever cash you have, at that moment. In order for credit card users to have good credit, they need to learn to exercise financial prudence. Nonetheless, the advantages of credit cards and electronic banking far outweigh the pros of physical money.

To summarize, the growth of credit card and online banking usage are beneficial to society in terms of better convenience, transparency and security. For impulsive shoppers, it would be better for them to pay with cash to avoid credit card debts. However, the long term solution would be for them to self-educate in controlling their buying urges for instant gratifications. It is highly probable that money will make its complete transmutation from cash to online transactions in the next few decades, transforming into a cashless society.