Some people think that environmental problems are too big for individuals to solve. Others, however, believe that these problems cannot be solved if individuals do not take actions. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

According to some people, environmental issues are macroscopic and is of little concern to individuals. Others, on the contrary, maintain that these issues could only be addressed if individuals take actions. In my point of view, I agree with the latter, which means humans could sonly solve environmental problems by taking measures on a microscopic level.

On the one hand, environmental issues such as oil shortage, desertification, marine pollution are big problems and strongly require governments’ efforts such as implementing laws and countries cooperating together, however, these large-scale measures could come into force more effectively only if the citizens or individuals devote efforts too. It would be pointless for governments to enact laws without the citizens obeying the laws and cultivating an eco-friendly living style. For example, governments and countries could establish rules to limit the increasing activities of fishing industry and prohibit excessive petrol discharges of vessels, while individuals could curb pollution by not littering in bathing beaches. There is a saying 'Many a little makes a mickle', the more uncivilized people throwing garbage into a sea, the more non-biodegradable waste being generated, hence the more marine creatures like turtles choking to death.

On the other hand, environmental problems stem from individual misbehaviours that should be eradicated. Rome is not built in one day, so does ecological crisis, which is caused by accumulated damage done to the Earth by humans. Some major environmental deterioration such as water shortage, global warming, air pollution, and so on are brought about by individuals, residents and citizens in a microscopic level. For instance, the root causes of water shortage and global warming are waste of domestic water during showers, and carbon emissions of each overly used private vehicles, respectively. By reducing each household's amount of time for taking showers and the frequency of taking private transport, the accumulated effects would be extremely positive and beneficial for conservation resources, mediating global temperature rise and saving the Mother Earth.

In conclusion, no one could be exempt from being responsible for the nowadays degradation of the environment. It is not only the nations' but also everyone's business in regards to protecting the environment. As long as more individuals make a contribution to the Planet Earth, big problems could be minimized to trivial problems and even no problem.