Some people think that the government should decide the subject for students to study in university. Others believe that students should be allowed to apply for the subject they prefer. Discuss both views and give your opinion

University learning is a first step for the career of any individual. Many opine that students should have the choice to select subjects for the school curriculum based on their interests and capabilities. Whereas, others believe that government should be responsible for designing the syllabus for students. In my opinion, the responsibility to decide the academic subjects should rest on government as it will consider the job sector and industry standards.

One major reason why certain people are in the interest of allowing students to choose the subjects to study is that pupils will have the benefit to study the courses that are of their interest as well as ability. Thus, students will not be forced to study any subjects that disinterest them or be more challenging for them. Another significant reason is that the university students will have a chance to build a career in their field of passion. For instance, if students have the freedom to include subjects like music in their academic course, they would be able to develop skills for their passion and make a career in it.

On the contrary, there are people who think that the government must decide on the school subjects. Firstly, government will design the course content according to the job markets and latest demands in the industry. As a result, the unemployment rate will be diminished as majority of the school and college pass outs will have the knowledge and skill set required by the companies. Moreover, having the academic syllabus planned by the government will aid to identify which subjects are a pre-requisite for specific courses. This would in turn, help learning institutions to cater courses and syllabus according to the different sectors.

To summarize, education plays an important role for the growth and development of any nation. There has always been a discontent regarding people's opinion whether the university subjects should be decided by government or the students. However, in my view, choice of subjects by the government will be more advantageous to the society provided that the government will decide the courses based on industry requirement and will guarantee employment for the students.