Some people think that government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree with this view?

Some part of the populous believes that countries and their administration are not vigilant with their spending when it comes to the humanities sector. They are of the opinion that this budget could be constructively used for other parts of society. I partly disagree with this school of thought.

On one hand, Arts are an integral part of any region's culture. It should be safeguarded and celebrated. Many governments by themselves and in collaboration are striving to preserve the fine arts of their ancestors. For instance, the United Nations has set up UNESCO sites to preserve world history and heritage. Protecting and preserving the nation's past is one of the prime objectives of the ruling class of any country. Additionally, more funds are required to promote and encourage the development of fine arts as it boosts the nation’s creativity and intellect.

Humanities, be it performing arts or otherwise boost the talent and creativity of the county's inhabitants. The culture and its influence on the population is an undeniable fact. It is the differences in traditions and culture that create and inspire artists all around the world. Thus, pumping money into the arts is a long-term investment for a nation and one that must not be taken lightly for instant gratification.

On the other hand, developing countries adhere to a very strict budget as they aspire to be self-sustaining. This could hinder the funds set aside for arts and humanities.

In conclusion, the proportion of money spent on the arts and culture of a country probably depends on the state of the county's economy and standing in the global environment.