Some people think the governments should increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles inorder to solve environmental problems. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Global warming has emerged as the most threatening situation for the world. The countries from around the globe have a reckoning about this problem and taking different measures to improve the situation. While some people believe that a rise in fuel prices will make people stop using their vehicles which will eventually have a positive effect on the environment, I don’t agree with this suggestion. This essay will discuss given point of view and produce a conclusion as per my understanding.

Firstly, though environmental problems are increasing undoubtedly day by day and humans as well as different animals and birds have to face issues like drought and tsunami almost every year nowadays, fuel-burning isn’t the only reason for these issues.

Secondly, if governments agree with this proposal, it will not help to stop running the vehicles as the world will come to a standstill if transporters refuse to run their vehicles but it will only increase the transportation costs which will lead to higher end cost to the consumers. Furthermore, as per the research conducted by Oxford University, only 2% of the total greenhouse gases come from the fuel burning. The rest of these gases generates by burning stubble, heavy usages of electronics such as refrigerators and ACs and cutting down the forest trees.

Lastly, instead of raising the fuel prices up, governments should spend their time, funds and efforts researching new ways of clean energy. The governments, in fact, should consider raising the rates of electricity units to put a check on the heavy usage of electronic items.

In essence, raising fuel prices will not help to resolve environmental issues. In my opinion, countries should come together to discuss these problems and should come up with a concrete plan to stop the damage that is being done by all of us.