Some people think that higher institutions should concentration more on academic subjects such as history and the physical sciences, while others think that they should concentrate more on practical subjects such as car mechanics and cookery, etc.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Some people argue that colleges should put extra focus on educational subjects whereas students think that educational institutions should provide more practical and vocational courses. In my opinion, I believe that academic subjects such as science and arts subjects should be given priority because of the following reasons.

To begin with, art subjects or scientific courses are basic education for almost every student. These types of subjects strengthen scientific rationality and the logical reasoning of the children. For example, general science educates real facts about earth such as gravity of earth and law of attraction which were unknown facts before the arrival of scientific reasoning.

Furthermore, social or political values that are essential to regulate the social life of an individual and these values are well gained from educational books. For instance, old stories of history give knowledge to the children about nations' past glories and awareness about the significance of language, culture and moral ethics. Since science subjects teach analytical thinking upon false beliefs and art subjects explain moral principles, this assists in becoming a better human being.

On the other hand, in contemporary times unemployment rates are rising dramatically. However, the high skilled jobs are in high demand with better career prospects. These concerns divert youngsters to go for special skill courses such as cooking or mechanical streams. Although these courses have campus placements, these courses have no value if students do not have basic education in academic subjects.

To conclude, it seems advisable that every subject has their own value and importance. Nevertheless, I believe that academic subjects are a basic platform for almost every child which prepares him for further future education.