Some people think it would be a good idea for schools to teach every young person how to be a good parent.

Do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

There is an issue about teaching children about parenting at school. Some social workers state that it is the best place to do this. In this essay, I will agree with their viewpoint.

Let us start with the reasons who social workers think that schools should educate children about healthy parenting. The first reason is that students will learn how to avoid divorce in marriage. Many young families break apart in early years, because they are unconscious of child rearing, when they marry, but with the course of parenting, they will be ready for maturity. Another reason is that they will learn that many immature girls become single parents. Many young girls get pregnant right after school and often have to nurture children alone, but this subject will help many girls avoid unplanned pregnancy. Furthermore, it will help young parents to respond appropriately in emergency. This subject, for example, can help future parents to know how to deal with the situation, when an infant is either running temperature or crying from growing teeth.

However, some teachers state that schools should not teach children subjects relating to nurturing. They justify their point of view with the following arguments. Firstly, it may shock developing minds. Many subjects touch matters such as gender distinction and sexual relationship, which may detrimentally affect immature minds and deter them from relationships. Secondly, it may overload school curriculum. Disciplines on upbringing may cause poor academic performance, since many students already find it hard to study the subjects in the current syllabus. Moreover, parents can teach their children. Parents can enlighten the subject of child caring to their children more effectively than teachers do at school, because children tend to trust their parents more.

In conclusion, even though some teachers claim that schools should not guide children into child rearing, I believe that schools should participate in education of all social aspects as well.