Some people think that keeping pets is good for children while others think it is dangerous and unhealthy. Which opinion do you agree with? Discuss both the views and give your view.

No doubt pets have eternal love and loyalty towards their owner, however, they are violent in some of the cases and can cause health issues too. I personally believe that having pets by children are not safe for them. The following essay looks at both sides of the argument.

This is true that pets especially domestic animals like cats and dogs play a significant role in life of a human being when they are trained and treated well. To pet an animal helps a kid to learn several things such as understanding towards animal, loyalty and respect for other creatures too on the planet earth. A domestic animal can be a companion, an entertainer and a guard as well. For example, as per an article printed in a popular magazine in New-York, upbringing of a pet by a kid makes them politer and understanding towards their society and love to other creatures.

On the contrary, an irrational animal cannot be compared with a human being. A pet will always remain unhygienic for humans and especially for kids, no matter how much you care for his wellbeing. Firstly, A pet can be violent and harm a child due to any unwanted fear or constrain. Subsequently, a child immune system is very weak as compared to an adult so can be easily caught be any infection or disease. To illustrate, a vet clinic in Boston stated that children petting animals are mostly suffering with rabies and other deadly disease.

To conclude, petting animals may teach children to show compassion towards other creature and society however there are health risks involved to do so. Therefore, I strongly suggest that children should not be allowed to pet animals.