Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society Others however believe that school is the place to learn this Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

There are different views about who should educate children to become good citizens in the future. While some people claim that schools have to take all responsibility for that, I would argue that children should be taught to be helpful members of society not only at school but also at home.

On the one hand, it cannot be denied that schools should be in charge of teaching children about their duties for society. Firstly, schools are places where children learn academic lessons, which will act as tools so that in the future children can use them to devote to society. For example, children learn Physics and Science at school and when they grow up, they can invent machines that helps to improve humans’ life. Moreover, as children spend most of their days at school, they are significantly affected by their teachers and their peers’ behaviors. Therefore, schools have to beware of their responsibility to form children’s mindset about their moral duties for society since they can mimic the behaviors of people around them.

On the other hand, there are several reasons why parents also play an important role in educating their children to become good citizens in the future. To begin with, as parents are individuals who bring up their children, they have profound influence on them. As a result, children will be more obedient to listen to their parents. For example, many children have been inculcated with honesty and loyalty since they were very small by their parents but not someone else. Additionally, parents always understand their children the most, such as their personality traits or their hobbies. This deep insight can help parents to find the most appropriate approach for teaching their children and therefore greatly contribute to the educating process.

In conclusion, while it is true that children should be taught to become good citizens at school to some extent, I strongly believe that it is also parents’ responsibility to educate the young generation about their duties for society.