Some people think that a person can never understand the culture of a country unless they speak the language.

Do you agree with opinion?

There is an opinion that people cannot be fully aware of the culture and traditions of a nation except in the case they are able to speak the language. I somehow agree with this point of view; however, I think that it is not the main factor.

First, language is a communication tool and it is extremely difficult to interact with a foreign culture having language barrier. Needless to say that the way as people speak was formed under the influence of a certain culture. For instance, northern ethnic groups have different cultural background, which is clearly reflected in their language. These folks have around fifty names for snow in contrast with south languages that have only one word. Thus, an individual has to know the language as well as locals for deep understanding of the nuances of somebody’s culture.

Nevertheless, knowledge of a culture implies not only ability to speak a foreign language, but also awareness of specific rituals such as the tea ceremony before an important negotiation in Japan. That is why, if a person was curious, he might have discovered a targeted culture through literature and history about the country, which was written or translated in his native language. For example, I was fond of India and I had interacted with a country’s culture through studying a traditional Indian dance and myths about it. In addition, I have been living in India nine months and I have learned a lot taking part in celebrations, visiting local houses and travelling around the country.

In conclusion, I partly agree that it is necessary to speak a foreign language if somebody wants to know the local culture. However, it does not play a main role in gaining of enlightenment about it. From my point of view, the desire to gain it is the key.