Some people think that a person improves their intellectual skills more when doing group activities. To what extent do you agree? Use specific details and examples to explain your view.

In the last couple of decades, group activities are enjoying an upsurge of popularity among the younger generation. This development, I believe is a positive one, as a plethora of recent scientific researches have proved that team activities are excellent in terms of both academic as well as overall development of an individual.

Working in a group, firstly, allows a person to express his or her opinion in front of a team, as a result, there will be debate among the group members which indeed makes a person to think much deeply and critically ultimately leading to improving the critical thinking abilities. Teamwork, secondly, is another important intellectual quality, which naturally is developed only if an individual knows how to work within a team. A recent experiment at Harvard school of psychology on two groups of people, one in a group and another on individuals. The results were clearly in great favor of group work, in terms of both the results and the mental development.

Individual activities, on the other hand, are supported by a certain people, they believe that working in a group does not guarantee best results, rather results in a lot of disturbance as there would be too many inputs from numerous people. This is true to some extent, however, if the group activities are orchestrated and managed by mentors and guides, then the factor of unnecessary disturbance can be ruled out. Furthermore, they assert that each individual has different IQ level and therefore, must be allowed to speed-up the work at his own pace. This reasoning again is not rested on solid-grounds, as in current competitive times, we need professionals and students who can work as a team and help individuals with lesser IQ to be taken along. This is simply due to the fact that, in today’s competitive business environment, the scale of problems and their possible solutions are too complex to be solved by an individual, therefore, there is no doubt about the fact that the teamwork is the only way forward.

From the above argument, it can be concluded that both the scientific studies as well as the past experience prove that working as team undoubtedly enhances our intellectual capabilities and make an individual a leader and a perfect future professional. Therefore, it is high time for both the schools and the society to encourage group activities on higher scales.