Some people think that secondary school children should study international news as one of the school subjects. Other people think that it is a waste of valuable school time. What do you think? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience

According to some people, secondary school children should be aware of international news and for this purpose, it should be added to their curriculum. While this may enhance students’ knowledge of current affairs, I feel it is politically dangerous and severely damaging for the mental growth of school students.

To start with, the young minds will simply digest and assimilate any information fed to them and hence the news feed that arrives to a classroom has to be authentic and truthful. If schools are not careful about choosing an unbiased source of news and information, it may affect children’s perspectives. For instance, if a child grows up watching FOXNEWS, then he/she will be influenced and thereby inclined towards right-wing political party.

Furthermore, the education system in the modern society is intended to enlighten and inspire the youngsters to set and achieve positive goals in life. However, the majority of the news broadcasted on popular channels are predominantly negative in nature. Hence the expression “if it bleeds, it leads”. For example, a teenager will learn more about natural disasters, epidemic, riots, famine etc. happening worldwide than positive aspects of life like scientific inventions, sports or inspirational stories. Such news will only intimidate them and educate them about negative affairs rather than inspiring them to do well in life.

To conclude, the international news is inappropriate information for a child’s consumption given the political biasness and harsh reality covered in those. Hence, I wholeheartedly support the current curriculum for school pupils.