Some people think that strict punishments for driving offence are the key to reducing traffic accidents. Others, however, believe that other measures would be more effective in improving road safety. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

Due to rapid increase in road accidents, some people believes that strict rules and regulations with severe punishment should be implemented to overcome this issue, and is becoming increasingly controversial. While some believes that fear of severe action will deter people to drive more responsibly, other thinks that merely a fine will work. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument in depth and why strict actions will give more propitious result then paying some token of money.

People driving recklessly and flouting traffic rules are main reasons of traffic accidents. Government should introduce the policy of zero tolerance for such crime perpetuators. There is a need of amending the laws to create fear and avoid any road injury. For example, In India, every year, 1, 00,000 people lose their lives in hit-and-run cases. However, after introducing a jail for 6 months in drunk and driving cases; the overall accident rate has plummeted. So, there is urgent requirement to have strict punishment including jail provisioning for not following traffic rules.

Those opposed to this says that we need to be more humane and follow “Gandhi” ideology to punishing traffic offenders. There is an argument of giving a second chance and time to follow traffic rules from next time. They believe that traffic police should work to convince with reasons, instead of creating an environment of fear. Police is for safety of people, and not to browbeat them. For instance, Saudi Arabia government initiated a traffic program to teach drivers about safety measure. So, actions need to be taken from awareness side.

In conclusion, it is debatable, if strict punishment is only solution to avoid any traffic mishaps or policy maker need to be more reliant for giving a second chance to offenders. In my opinion, we should have a strict policy and action in place to averse any accident.